We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The yishengting website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa

Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Review Highlights
Beautiful

The location is perfect, away from the town ship so is very quiet. You can drive yourself or they... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Faith P
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
Serenity Spa

Booking an hour of soaking time in those heavenly hot pools is as challenging as getting seats at a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ItsMeNaea
,
Honolulu, Hawaii
Read all 1,458 reviews
All photos (606)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good19%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“shotover river”(145 reviews)
“private pool”(35 reviews)
About
While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
As featured in 3 Days in Queenstown
Contact
160 Arthurs Point Road | Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-442 5707
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Queenstown
from $51.99
More Info
from $56.27
More Info
from $371.82
More Info
from $130.96
More Info
Reviews (1,458)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveler rating
1,032
267
72
27
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,032
267
72
27
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shotover river private pool ultimate relaxation retractable roof spa room perfect temperature complimentary shuttle romantic experience my partner clear night amazing views town centre amazing experience visiting queenstown new zealand tub hotpools
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

The location is perfect, away from the town ship so is very quiet. You can drive yourself or they can pick you up from in town. Staff are great, very relaxing.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Faith P
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booking an hour of soaking time in those heavenly hot pools is as challenging as getting seats at a award winning Broadway show. Our party had the opportunity to book a reservation largely in part to my sister's diligence and motivation to get us in...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank ItsMeNaea
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This experience is a must do while in Queenstown. We booked one hour private pool with one hour coyple massage about 6 months before. The viewis spectacular and it worth the money but the massage wasn't so great. We had muscular pain for a couple...More

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank travelisair
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi travelisair, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Onsen, but sad to hear things did not go as expected with your massage treatment. We truly love what we do and we want for every customer to have the best possible...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My hubby is a real kiwi man, never been to a spa resort and now he has been converted! Girls welcomed us like royalty, the spa was beautiful and very relaxing we chose the massage package and the girls were wonderful, even put the man...More

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank sadamson8
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi sadamson8, Wow! What an amazing review. It doesn’t get much better than that for us. To hear we surpassed your husbands’ expectations and converted him to the spa-life really does make us so proud of what we do. Our staff is constantly hard at...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked Onsen Hot pools from Ireland about a month in advance. I had booked the 10pm slot as I knew we would be busy touring around Queenstown. Unfortunately, it was a cloudy night so we didn’t do any “star gazing”, but we did leave...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank goldairdm
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi goldairdm, We really appreciate that you took the time to share details about your recent visit to our Onsen. It’s such a shame that you got a bit of bad weather whilst you were here and didn’t get to see the stars, but we’re...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to Onsen Hot Pools today the view is spectacular The lady at the front desk was also pleasant Don’t expect to relax if you have a one hour booked your rushed, don’t get your full one hour as you need to be changed to...More

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Rinnyvan
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Rinnyvan, Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know we dropped the ball. We are so sad to hear we did not provide you with the best possible experience, as this is something we truly pride ourselves on. We time every...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner visited Onsen hot pools for his birthday. We had the ultimate relaxation experience which provided us with an hour in outback private hot pool, along with drinks, snacks, a lovely scented candle, towels and robes. The pool was at a perfect temperature, and...More

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank audreyg5555
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi audreyg5555, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your Ultimate Relaxation Experience, and that you chose to celebrate your partners special occasion with us. We hope we helped to create...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I went here on our first evening after arriving in New Zealand. We had been traveling prior to this for 24 hours, so it was good to do something relaxing and Onsen Hot Pools was the perfect thing. I book the "Ultimate...More

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Voyage_34
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Voyage_34 we are thankful for your time and your willingness to write a review to let us know how we are doing. We are glad to know that the Ultimate Relaxation Experience was just the right product for you, and we totally hit the...More

Reviewed July 14, 2019

My wife and I had a fantastic time at the Onsen Hot Pools. We enjoyed a private spa for 1 hour, where we just relaxed and enjoyed the tranquil atmosphere under the stars.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Clive T
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Clive T, We are so grateful for your feedback, and so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. We sincerely hope that you visit us again. Sincerely, The Onsen Hot Pools Team

Reviewed July 10, 2019

How gorgeous were these pools! A definite must do when visiting queenstown. You will not be disappointed. The tandeki experience was perfect for us and a nice touch for a long soak. The hour went so fast! Will definitely do againMore

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Annalisse M
Marketing U, Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2019

Hi Annalisse M, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are glad to know that your purchase was just the right product for you, and we totally hit the spot. Looking forward to your next visit. Sincerely,...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 60 nearby hotels
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
718 reviews
.09 miles away
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
344 reviews
.10 miles away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
492 reviews
2.95 miles away
Sherwood Queenstown
449 reviews
2.98 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 305 nearby restaurants
Canyon Food & Brew Co
46 reviews
.82 miles away
Marvel QT
14 reviews
.10 miles away
Kanuka Kitchen and Bar
6 reviews
.07 miles away
Rakau Queenstown
5 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 437 nearby attractions
Queenstown Trail
188 reviews
2.90 miles away
Altitude Brewing
16 reviews
2.93 miles away
Historic Skippers School
34 reviews
2.50 miles away
Ben Lomond Lavender
10 reviews
.98 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
resh s
May 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from akostich_11 | Reviewed this property |
You can do the pools year-round, it will not be too cold in fact it will be very pleasant with the contrast between the hot water and the cool air. You can also close the retractible glass door/roof.
1
Vote
jayzee24
March 18, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Beckysbeenthere | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is
2
Votes
melange321
February 16, 2019|
Answer
Response from Barra C | Reviewed this property |
Private. No one barges in either. You will hear an alarm letting you know you have 5 mins.
1
Vote