We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The yishengting website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Soneva Jani

20001
Traveler (619)
Room & Suite (192)
Dining (113)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
An imaginative journey that began over two decades ago, the Soneva story continues with Soneva Jani, the brand’s newest luxury resort offering. Inspired by a word that means 'wisdom’ in Sanskrit, Soneva Jani encompasses a collection of Water Villas and Island Sanctuaries set within a lagoon of crystal clear waters, fringed by pristine beaches and blanketed in lush tropical greenery. The highlight of the islands that the resort calls home is the 5.6 kilometre private lagoon that surrounds it; an awe-inspiring azure spectacle that inspires a sense of calm. Soneva Jani, located in the Medhufaru lagoon in the Noonu Atoll, comprises five islands, the largest of which is Medhufaru, which is 150 acres in size. The resort can be reached by a scenic 40 minute seaplane flight direct from Male International Airport, a 60 minute speedboat ride from Soneva Fushi, or by a leisurely half-day cruise from Soneva Fushi onboard Soneva in Aqua. The resort’s soft opening is planned for October 01, 2016, while the official opening date is fixed at November 05, 2016. Bookings are now available from October 01, 2016 onwards.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids club
Airport transportation
Spa
Butler service
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Kitchenette
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

Full view
Contact
20001
Getting there
Ifuru Domestic Airport28 miSee all flights
Dharavandhoo AIrport44 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
153Reviews35Q+A34Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 129
  • 11
  • 8
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I had been looking at booking into the Soneva Jani for months, dreaming about it. Looking at the pictures of the slide and anticipating what was to be the grand finale of a world trip that we had decided to embark upon. I visioned myself going down my slide day after day. This was our fourth trip to the Maldives so I feel like we have some experience in what we should expect. We were picked up by the Transmalidvian Airways. I want to make sure that set the record straight, that though the hotel has their own branded flight - it doesn’t seem that all guests are able to use that plane. There wasn’t anything wrong with taking the TMA flight - it was actually nice because we weren’t required to stop at any other resorts on the way there or on the way back. We were in the Maldives the second and third week in July for a surfing. July can be a great month for surfing- but your run the risk of stormy weather. Which ended up being the case with our experience at Soneva Jani that we had booked for 4 nights. We landed mid storm and was whisked away to Villa #9. We were orientated to our Villa and introduced to our Mr Friday. The Villa is just as it is represented in the pictures. Very open and very beautiful, however when the wind is blowing 30 - 40 mph with driving rain and various angles it actually isn’t very practical. The first night we were at the resort we went to sleep and woke up covered in sweat. What we realized is that the electricity had gone out in our room. So we got up scampering around in the dark fumbling to find some sort of light. We picked up the phone in the room and tried to call someone - the phone doesn’t appear to actually connect with anyone at night. So then we fumbled around to find the report provided phone to reach our Mr Friday who called someone to come to our villa. Repeat that 4 times that night, our electricity kept going out in our villa. It got to the point that we were shown which breaker to re-set. It took longer to call someone and have them re-set it. We would wake up in a sweat, figure out the electricity had gone out, again - pry open the front door in the driving rain, walk to the outer closet in your jammies (get all wet) and re set the switch. It was not a very pleasant or restful night. I am trying to be open minded, since it was a storm but I want you to ask yourself if you were spending an average of $3,000 USD a night would you find that experience to be acceptable? In the morning theres was some acknowledgement from our Mr Friday about the “difficult night” but I don’t think that the inconvenience of the situation was really acknowledged. An engineer also came out that day and we didn't experience the same electricity outage for the remainder of the time we were there. It continued to be windy and rain the entire 4 days we were at the resort. Due to the weather almost all activities were unavailable. No snorkeling, no night time observatory, you could barely ride your bike on the walk way (with fear of being blown off) and no slide rides. The crab shack was also blown out- so we did a modified version of it in the cinema area. It was a “nice” lunch but I cant really comment on what the actual experience is supposed to be. I mentioned above how impractical the room is for this type of weather, the rooms are obviously designed to be open to nature, so with the storm water seeped into the room through all of the windows and doors. We had towels lining the base of the rooms. The windows and doors shook and banged all four nights. With very little outdoor activities available to you, the options were to sit in your Villa or go to the restaurant at the main hub. I was surprised to also find that the living room is not air conditioned, there’s been some mention in prior posts about this. The room is open to the upstairs second floor - so outdoor air seeps in. With the bad weather you could sit in your bedroom or the kitchen for air conditioning. It became very confining and depressing to sit in the bedroom each day. So the highlight of each day was going to the restaurant. That was literally our “activity”. At the restaurant we met some of the incredible staff at the resort which truly are the bright lights of our experience. People such as Emaaz and Ansaam. The chefs within the restaurants we’re also very conversational and helpful. Grilling fish Maldivian style, making a string hopper breakfast etc. We also participated in the Chef Kiichi dinner which which is a definite recommend. The dinner was served with a beautifully decorated private dining space and the food was memorable. The resort advertises eco friendly surf, I asked about this and received varying responses about the surf. It doesn’t seem to be well organized or understood, there is no surf break near the resort and I would not book here with the purpose of surfing. The final insult, towards the end of our trip our air conditioning went out in our bedroom, we asked a few times about this and was advised that it was working. We sat and suffered in the hot nights waiting to leave the resort. My helpful tip is that when I had initially booked the hotel I had pre paid for some of the activities such as the observatory, the snorkeling etc. I had asked our Mr Friday a few times about how I was going to obtain a refund (since we weren’t able to participate in any of these). The resort seemed unable to provide a refund and offered to trade some of the food expenses against these fees. We had paid for a full board on the meals. I desperately wanted off the island so I agreed too the trade, but in retrospect I do not think the trade was actually a good one. So it is my recommendation NOT to pre pay for any of the activities. Understood that the resorts cannot control the weather, however you do find when things are at their worst that it is interesting to see how the resort respond to these less than optimal situations. I would have wanted every experience within their control to be spot on or above spot on. In this case it wasn’t. In my other report experiences management would check in daily with guests, I almost felt like there was no one out front during this misery. Consider when you are traveling and think of what you would do if the worst was to occur. Would you be willing to still spend that money?
Read more
Response from Marco D, General Manager at Soneva Jani
Responded 1 week ago
Dearest JSMana, Thank you so much for providing such a detailed review. We are glad to see had a great deal of meals and that the passion of Emaan, Ansaam and chef Kiichi were well appreciated. In terms of the weather it was truly a very unfortunate spell of bad weather and we are sorry it had an impact on your stay beyond our tolerance levels as well. In terms of surf breaks in fact there are two surf spots in proximity however they are seasonal and weather dependent. Soneva Fushi has more and less eather dependent surf spots in it's direct proximity. However you mentioned that we charged you for activities that you did not redeem do to bad weather. This does not correspond with the final bill in our administration. Yes, you indeed did pre-book the Stargazing dinner and snorkeling, however they were not charged to your card. Do let us know if we can help clarify this point. In terms of your experience we do care and, as highlighted by Shaaz my resort manager whilst you were here, we do want to ensure you (and all of our dear guests) have a fabulous time. Hence we have made rectifications to minimize any chance of having your feedback reoccur. I will reach out to you personally in case you have more detailed feedback that can further aid us to help enhance each stay regardless of weather. Warmest regards and once again many thanks, Marco
Read more
+1
My wife, 11-year-old son, and I had the opportunity to visit the Maldives in June/July 2019, and we visited three different resorts. We enjoyed them all, but Soneva Jani was the crown jewel of the visit. Our villa host, or "Mr. Friday" in Soneva-speak, was Aslam, and he did a fantastic job of making us welcome and addressing all our needs. Marcos, the general manager, was very welcoming and friendly whenever we saw him around the resort. I enjoyed talking with Craig, the food & beverage manager, and even had the opportunity to go diving with him; he was both friendly and professional, and helps the restaurants at Jani to run like clockwork and provide incredibly special culinary experiences. We stayed in villa 10, which had a great sunset view from the pool deck, and both a sunset and sunrise view from the top floor (kind of an observation deck). Our villa was a one-bedroom with slide, and we really enjoyed having our own private waterslide, huge pool deck with saltwater pool, so many places to sit and lounge...it was a fantastic experience. The food variety and quality were outstanding, and the chocolate and ice cream rooms were favorites of ours in the afternoons to tide us over between the huge breakfast buffet and the wonderful dinners. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that we loved our experience, and the hospitality we experienced at Soneva Jani is unmatched at any resort we have visited outside the Maldives. We eagerly await our next opportunity to visit!
Read more
Response from SonevaJaniGM, General Manager at Soneva Jani
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear forbachc, Thank you for writing such a highly esteemed review for the property and team of Soneva Jani. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The overwater villas are truly one of a kind in the crystal clear lagoon. And indeed we do get any comments on the chocolate and cheese selection that corresponds to the color of the current month. I will personally thank Craig and Aslam for being the wonderful people they are and having a memorable impact on your trip. We look forward to your next visit at Soneva Jani. Warmest Regards, Marco
Read more
The staff at Soneva Jani is great. Staff Hussain Yasir had done an execellent job taking care of me and my family during our stay. My daughter had fever and Yasir had promptly made arrangement for us, and he and the medical staff had attended us many times a day during that period. We had inadvertently left certain items at the beach during the day and we only realised that at night but Yasir still managed to find the lost items for us the same night. On the day when we left Soneva Jani, my daugther could not find her favourite toy dog, and Yasir immediately tried to find that with the other staff but to no avail. Yasir subsequently found the toy dog at the resort but we were already at the airport and flight was about to depart. Yasir subsequently brought the toy dog personnally from Soneva Jani to Mali to arrange courier of the toy dog from Maldives to Beijing. The toy dog is something special to my daughter and we really appreciate all the effort made by Yasir to help us!
Read more
Response from SonevaJaniGM, General Manager at Soneva Jani
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear tomfutomfu, Warmest greeting from Soneva Jani! It brings us much joy to hear that you have enjoyed your time here on our island. I speak on behalf on all the hosts on the island when I say that we are very glad to hear that we have managed to make your trip here in the Maldives ever so much more special. I will personally thank Yasir and our island healer for your high comments. Looking forward to your next stay with us. Best Regards, Marco
Read more
So happy I took a few days to rest and recharge at Soneva Jani in mid-June. The whole experience, from being greeted at the airport and taken to the Tesla, to the tranquil Soneva lounge while waiting for the seaplane, to the warm welcome of my Mr. Friday (shoutout to Shimmie!), to the huge/chill/luxe villa...wow I could just go on and on. If you are looking for a beautiful experience with calm and privacy this is it. Good distance between the villas. Enormous sun-deck with large <3 saltwater <3 pool. Love the 'intelligent luxury' vibe/idea. They filter and mineralize their water. Feels amazing to live in harmony with surroundings, in a more sustainable way than available at other resorts. They have books in the villas explaining their sustainable philosophy which I enjoyed reading. One of my favorite experiences was walking to the pesticide free herb/salad garden, and getting an impromptu tour from gardener Naimina (please give him my many thanks!). He gave me samples straight from the garden that tasted amazing, -it was just a beautiful experience that will be a nice memory forever. I did in-villa dining all days and loved it. Fresh sashimi, best papaya ever, fresh salad straight from the garden, great custom green juice. Great gym. If you like the relaxed vibe of places like Tulum, but still want to go all out with a huge luxe villa that has Hamptons-like decor this place is for you. I made a video of my stay which is on youtube (I'm not allowed to link it here). Selina S
Read more
Response from Marco D, General Manager at Soneva Jani
Responded Jun 26, 2019
Dear Selina S, What a lovely caption. Obviously (without being cheeky) every day is a Soneva Jani day for us, however they only become more special and memorable when phrased and appreciated by you and other dear guests. All things captured by you, such as our fresh organic produce from our garden, the way our villas allow for privacy, and our own water enriched with the benefits of minerals, it all matters to us. "Intelligent Luxury" is about care, content and a deep understanding of what drives your experience. Above this I am fortunate enough to have Shimmi, Naimina and our entire team of hosts that demonstrate their soulful and thoughtful hospitality with a smile. Thank you for your heartfelt and generous appreciation for what we love doing. It would be great to see you return someday soon and show you our ever evolving focus on your experience. Warm greetings from all of us, Shimmi, Naimina and Team Soneva Jani
Read more
+1
We have been to the Maldives 3 times and we wanted the best, so chose to stay at Soneva Jani after seeing this beautiful resort on social media outlets. My ‘detailed’ review: My wife and I had very high expectations for Soneva Jani, especially after experiencing 5/5 hospitality from other resorts. My kids (aged 5 & 3) absolutely loved the trip and have already been asking to go back. We were notified to head over to counter#8 at the airport to meet the Soneva representative. She was lovely to deal with and our excitement of getting closer to the actual resort was starting to set in. The moment she put the tags on our bags, we knew this was actually happening. Villa 16 it says. We checked in to the seaplane and was picked up by a Tesla and driven to the Soneva Jani seaplane lounge. (To my understanding, There’s only 2 Tesla’s in Maldives and Soneva own both!!) The seaplane lounge was a good place to relax while waiting to board the flight. The representative at the lounge was very respectful and polite. LEGO was available to keep the kids entertained while we waited. The chef offered to cook us a meal while in the lounge though we declined as we had already had breakfast. On boarding the seaplane, as we walk along the jetty all we could see were plenty of TransMaldivian labelled seaplanes and there’s an odd one out labelled - Soneva!! You guys even have your own seaplane! The seaplane is equipped with BOSE noise cancelling headphones and iPads for every passenger. Whereas the ordinary TransMaldivian planes have generic earplugs only. After landing and being picked up by the speedboat, we were greeted by our Mr Friday - Aslam. Seeing the overwater villas as we approach the resort in the turquoise water meant we had arrived in paradise! Aslam gave us a tour of the entire resort. It took about 20-30min. The island is massive! The villas is one of the reasons why we chose to stay here. They are massive! Even the 1 bedroom villa was large enough for our whole family. Biggest villas we’ve come across in the Maldives. So massive that you can spend the entire holiday inside without having to walk outside. Appreciated the Complimentary minibar and snacks in the kitchen which was restocked every day. The room was cleaned twice a day. Ibrahim did a great job! Thank you. You can tell everything in the villa is well thought-out before being constructed. All the gadgets and practicality amazes you. A good feature was that you could link your phone to the Sound system and there are speakers in literally every room of the villa (even the upstairs chill-out area). Soneva even provided an iPod to play the music from but we decided to use our own device. Netflix was available on the TV in the bedroom also. . The Slide was great fun and we had great photos with the hammock out in the middle of the ocean. The bed type lounge in the bathroom was the most comfortable thing ever! You could easily fall asleep on it. Whoever’s idea it was to include these in the villas deserves recognition. So Fresh (The main restaurant at The Gathering) : Variety of foods during Breakfast lunch and dinner. Great chefs and great hospitality. Special mention to Joy - our waitress for the entire stay. She is a lovely person and does an amazing job. (Could you please pass on our well wishes to her? We didn’t get to say goodbye to her as she was attending to another family while we were leaving during our last meal at So Fresh) We had a good Japanese dinner at the Overwater cinema/restaurant. The Crab dishes made by the chefs at Crabshack for lunch was delicious. 24hour chocolate AND ice cream room was a great feature to have in this luxurious resort. Kids enjoyed it about 2-3 times/day. We chose the all inclusive package and a good benefit of this was we were able to have in room dining at no further costs. The gym was basic though had enough equipment to get a workout in. Equipment was very clean and the treadmill was very high tech. Complete with Touch screen showing YouTube and videos. Definitely not the type of treadmill you would see in every local gym. It amazes me how they managed to build 20+ massive overwater structures in a remote location. Overall, in my opinion, the resorts location and villa size is what sets it apart from others. Surrounded by clear waters - It’s hard to take a bad photo here. The resort is private enough to make you feel like you’re the only family around (except during meal times). Im not sure if it’s worth the amount of money we paid though you can absolutely respect and can’t argue with why it’s priced the way it is. The food is excellent. The people are lovely and I can’t wait to until more villas are completed on north side of the island. Thank you Soneva team for great hospitality. Special mention to Aslam, Joy, Ibrahim. We did come across other representatives though I don’t remember their names.
Read more
Response from Marco D, General Manager at Soneva Jani
Responded May 28, 2019
Dear Maetex, We are delighted and humbled by your very detailed review. Clearly you have thoroughly enjoyed the entire journey from the arrival experience right till the moment you left Soneva Jani. From the airport, gym, meal experiences, generous villa up to the personalized experiences delivered by Aslam, Joy and Ibrahim is fabulous to read. To have had you and the family staying with us was an absolute delight for our entire team. Obviously we look forward to having you back someday soon. Meanwhile take care and warmest regards, Team Soneva Jani Marco
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$2,541 - $4,833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MaldivesNoonu AtollMedhufaru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your yishengting Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing